

Council

Monday, 20 May 2019

Subject: Appointment of Committees

Report by: Monitoring Officer

Contact Officer: Alan Robinson

Katie Coughlan

Senior Democratic & Civic Officer katie.coughlan@west-lindsey.gov.uk

01427 676594

Purpose / Summary: This report sets out the wishes expressed by

political groups in respect of appointment of Members to serve on the Committees of the

Council.

RECOMMENDATION(S):

- (1) That the rules relating to proportionality be suspended in relation to the Overview and Scrutiny Committee; and
- (2) In accordance with the provisions of section 16 of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989 and the wishes expressed by political groups, Members be appointed to serve to the Council's Committees for the 2019/2020 civic year.

IMPLICATIONS

Risk Assessment: N/A

Legal:
In accordance with the provisions of section 16 of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989 and the wishes expressed by political groups
Financial : FIN/10/20
None from this report
Staffing:
None directly arising as a result of this report.
Equality and Diversity including Human Rights :
None.
Data Protection Implications :
Climate Related Risks and Opportunities: N/A
Section 17 Crime and Disorder Considerations:
Hoolth landingtions.
Health Implications:
Title and Leastion of any Packground Banara used in the preparation of
Title and Location of any Background Papers used in the preparation of this report :
Notices received from the Group Leaders on the allocation of Committee/ Sub-Committee places – documents available from the Guildhall, Gainsborough (on request).

Call in and Urgency:

Is the decision one which Rule 14.7 of the Scrutiny Procedure Rules apply?

i.e. is the report exempt from being called in due to urgency (in consultation with C&I chairman)	Yes	No	X	
Key Decision:				
A matter which affects two or more wards, or has significant financial implications	Yes	No	x	

1. Introduction

- 1.1 In accordance with the provision of section 16 of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989, it is the duty of the Council to make appointments to Committees in accordance with the wishes expressed by political groups following the determination under section 15 (the allocation of seats to political groups).
- 1.2 Section 2 details the wishes expressed by the political groups.

2. Appointment of Committees

2.1 Chief Officer Employment Committee (13 Members)

Councillor Owen Bierley

Councillor Jackie Brockway

Councillor Mick Devine

Councillor Cherie Hill

Councillor Stuart Kinch

Councillor Angela Lawrence

Councillor Giles McNeill

Councillor John McNeill

Councillor Di Rodgers

Councillor Lesley Rollings

Councillor Anne Welburn

Councillor Angela White

Councillor Trevor Young

2.2 Corporate Policy and Resources Committee (13 Members)

Councillor Owen Bierley

Councillor Matthew Boles

Councillor Stephen Bunney

Councillor David Cotton

Councillor Mick Devine

Councillor Ian Fleetwood

Councillor larri leetwood

Councillor Stuart Kinch

Councillor Giles McNeill

Councillor John McNeill

Councillor Mandy Snee

Councillor Robert Waller

Councillor Anne Welburn

Councillor Trevor Young

2.3 Governance and Audit Committee (7 Members)

Councillor Jackie Brockway

Councillor Tracey Coulson Councillor David Dobbie Councillor Chris Darcel Councillor Caralyne Grimble Councillor John McNeill Councillor Angela White

2.4 Licensing Committee (9 Members)

Councillor David Cotton
Councillor Tim Davies
Councillor Jessie Milne
Councillor Caralyne Grimble
Councillor Paul Howitt-Cowan
Councillor Angela Lawrence
Councillor Cordelia McCartney
Councillor Judy Rainsforth
Councillor Jim Snee

2.5 Regulatory Committee (9 Members)

Councillor David Cotton
Councillor Tim Davies
Councillor Jessie Milne
Councillor Caralyne Grimble
Councillor Paul Howitt-Cowan
Councillor Angela Lawrence
Councillor Cordelia McCartney
Councillor Judy Rainsforth
Councillor Jim Snee

2.6 Planning Committee (15 Members)

Councillor Owen Bierley
Councillor Matthew Boles
Councillor David Cotton
Councillor Mick Devine
Councillor Ian Fleetwood
Councillor Cherie Hill
Councillor Paul Howitt-Cowan
Councillor Cordelia McCartney
Councillor Giles McNeill
Councillor Jessie Milne
Councillor Keith Panter
Councillor Roger Patterson
Councillor Judy Rainsforth
Councillor Robert Waller
Councillor Angela White

2.7 Prosperous Communities Committee (15 Members)

Councillor Owen Bierley

Councillor Stephen Bunney

Councillor Liz Clews

Councillor Tracey Coulson

Councillor Chris Darcel

Councillor Mick Devine

Councillor Paul Howitt-Cowan

Councillor John McNeill

Councillor Jessie Milne

Councillor Tom Regis

Councillor Jim Snee

Councillor Mandy Snee

Councillor Robert Waller

Councillor Anne Welburn

Councillor Trevor Young

3. Suspension of Political Balance

The Council can, by way of a separate vote, agree to not apply the provisions of the Local Government (Committees and Political Groups) Regulations 1990 to a Committee or Committees. Requests have been received that the Overview and Scrutiny Committee be not politically balanced.

The proposed unbalanced Committee Membership is set out below.

3.1 Challenge and Improvement Committee (will be known as Overview and Scrutiny Committee if agreed in the Annual Constitution Review) (12 members)

Councillor David Dobbie

Councillor Caralyne Grimble

Councillor Cherie Hill

Councillor Angela Lawrence

Councillor Keith Panter

Councillor Roger Patterson

Councillor Judy Rainsforth

Councillor Diana Rodgers

Councillor Lesley Rollings

Councillor Lewis Strange

Councillor Jeff Summers

Councillor Angela White